Skip to main content
Playback Setlists

Information around Playback setlists including how they work and how to use them best.

Trevor avatar
Written by Trevor
Updated over a week ago

Create, edit, and store multiple setlists on one Playback device, and share these setlists with others on your team. Here's everything you need to know!



Setlist Menu:

In the Setlist menu, you will find everything you need to manage your Setlists.

  • Create a new Setlist

  • Open a Setlist previously created in Playback, the website, or ChartBuilder

  • Edit your currently opened Setlist details (name and date)

  • Save your Setlist to the Cloud, or open the latest saved version on your local device (more on that below)

  • Save your currently loaded Setlist as a new Setlist, with a new name and date

  • Import or open setlists from Planning Center

Setlist Details Menu:

In the Setlist details menu, you can edit the Setlist name and date, remove the Setlist audio files, and delete the Setlist from your account. From the Open Setlist menu, you can download the setlist to your device without actually opening it by using the cloud download icons next to the setlist name and each individual song.

What's stored in a Playback Setlist?

A Playback setlist will store all comprehensive information for every song tile item and individual stem in Playback. Saving a setlist to the cloud will commit all of the below items to the setlist and overwrite any other data in that current setlist on that device and in the cloud.

Here's what's saved with Playback setlists:

  • The custom song map (song sections) of every song in the setlist

  • Selected Tracks for the song in the setlist

  • Key and Tempo for the song

  • The pad-player pad and settings set in every song's edit menu.

  • The duration settings in every song's edit menu
    (Start point, End point, Fade Out)

  • Track fader positions for every song

  • Bus fader positions for every song
    (both with and without Song Specific Busses enabled)

  • Automations made in Playback

  • SMPTE cues for every song

  • ProPresenter Playlist number and ProPresenter Playlist Item number MIDI Data for every song.

Here's what IS NOT saved with Playback setlists:

  • MIDI Mapping (Device Specific)

  • Keyboard Mapping (Device Specific)

  • MIDI Cues (MIDI Cues can be stored to User Cues in the cloud* and would populate always for a device when the MIDI bus is enabled)

*requires Cloud Pro* or the Live Bundle (*not including Cloud Pro Basic)


Setlist Cloud Management

Setlists in Playback can be saved to the Cloud and accessed on other Playback devices. This creates a unique Setlist ecosystem for collaborating with other members of your team with the proper permissions, while being a strictly manual experience in order to protect your local version of the setlist.

To Save to the Cloud, simply select "Save To Cloud" in the setlist menu and you will see a blue check when it is successful. Add a note indicating which changes were made in the latest version as a reminder for yourself and other team members. At any point, you can return to the menu and select "Restore From Cloud" to revert any local changes back to the saved version.

If push notifications are enabled, other devices with the Setlist loaded will see a red icon above the setlist menu indicating a new Setlist update is available. Selecting the Update Available button will reveal when the save was made, who made it, and the comment attached to it, and it will allow you to choose whether or not to receive it at that time.

If you're not seeing setlist changes on another device, confirm that there's not this "Update available" option in the setlist details inside the setlist menu.


Other Helpful Articles:

Learn how to unlock more powerful Playback features with a Cloud Pro Subscription. Start your 30-day free trial today.

Learn how to manage people and permissions in your organization.

Did this answer your question?